“BOISE’S GREAT,” SAYS A WRITER WHO LIVES THERE

A totally sweet article from writer Anthony Doerr (Idaho’s current writer-in-residence) about the city of Boise ran in the April 2009 issue of Smithsonian magazine and on smithsonian.com, and  I recommend checking it out.  Here’s an excerpt:

Boise, contrary to the notions of Easterners I meet now and then, is not located in Indiana, Ohio or Iowa.

See?!  Isn’t that awesome?!  And so true!

In all seriousness, though, the guy writes one mean (by which I mean FREAKING AMAZING) article about our fair City of Trees, and he does it in a ridiculously descriptive way that makes me want to cry because I can’t yet write half as well.  Oh well, at least somebody is living up to his potential, right?

HERE’S A LINK TO THE ARTICLE.

After reading a new feature on smithsonian.com, ELTRAV.COM's new favorite band of Boiseans might just be The Doerrs.

Leave a comment